Acer :: Aspire AS5740g-6454 Review And 1st Impression

Feb 27, 2010

I am a big Asus g-series fan since getting a g51vx-a1 gaming laptop needless to say i sold it and have a g73 on preorder and an m11x due both next month.
In the meantime they keep pushing EDD on both so I need to game right? and since I sold my beloved G51 (early Feb) and was currently using either a vaio fz470 OR an asus f3sv to game.
I wasn't happy with the results i was getting raidwise in WoW ,basically all settings set to low

I looked around for a cheap laptop with these specifications:

better than average cpu, gpu with dx11 support, HDMI and cheap

I looked at other offerings from Asus but many i was looking at N61/N71 were also on pre-order sad times indeed.

surfing the local comp store web I decided to search for something with the ati 5650 which i read got great reviews for gaming.
up pops the 5740 and its big brother 7740
since i wanted cheap i opted for the 5470:

View 10 Replies


ADVERTISEMENT

Acer :: Aspire AS5740G-6454 Now Discontinued

Mar 18, 2010

here in Canada just spoke with someone at NCIX, they just got the word from Acer, no reason was given but makes you wonder. This laptop is popular and just recently released. They have only enough stock to fill backorders.

View 7 Replies View Related

Acer :: Timeline 4810t Initial Impression And Review

Jun 7, 2009

Just purchased the Acer Timeline 4810T from Staples. This is is the 14.1 inches variant, thought I might post some initial impression for all who are interested.

Spec
Intel Core 2 Solo SU3500 1.4 ghz, 800 Mhz FSB, 3MB L2 Cache
4GB DDR 3 ram
320GB 5400rpm Western Digital
DVD+RW super multi
Wireless A/B/G (Atheros)
14.1 in 1368 x 768 LED (720P)
Windows Vista Home Premium 64 bits

HARDWARE
Contained the Acer Timeline, small form factor adapter/charger, 6 Cell 5800mah, 63WHR battery. manual and the usual documentation. No operating system dvd nor driver disc were included, however, the laptop did give me an option to create recovery discs.

The initial inspection of chasis was favorable, as you can see in the picture, it is thinner than a white macbook, roughly same thickness closed as the aluminum macbook. Chasis was rigid with no flex, the only part of the laptop that exhibit any kind of flex is the keyboard. Should you type hard, you can see the center of the keyboard being compressed downward. The chicklet style keyboard however, remained very usable and responsive.

Sound is loud and clear unlike tinny netbook speaker.

Mine comes with 3 USB port, 1 VGB, 1 HDMI, 1 ethernet port and 1 DVD+RW super multi. It also has a 5 in 1 memory card reader towards the front. 1 headphone output and 1 microphone input..........................

View 10 Replies View Related

Acer :: Can A WD10TPVT Fit In A Aspire AS5740G-6395

Apr 15, 2010

I've been looking all over to find out whether or not I can fit a drive (such as the WD10TPVT) with a height of 12.5mm in the AS5740G.

I've got a need to store a lot of data on the laptop, so the speed of the drive isn't as big of a concern (though I'd kill for a 1TB drive with 7200RPM; bonus points if it ran quiet).

Has anyone tried to upgrade their stock HDD with one of these as of yet?

View 5 Replies View Related

Acer Aspire V5-572P-6454 :: Power Button Makes Screen Go Black

Feb 1, 2015

I have an Aspire V5-572P-6454.  Occasionally I accidentally hit the power button on the side of the computer and it makes my screen go black.  I can't figure out how to get me screen back, thought it was a lighting issue and tried Fn and the left and right arrows, but that doesn't work.  Usually end up rebooting and losing what I've been working on.

View 1 Replies View Related

Acer :: Initial Impression Of 8935g

Jul 23, 2009

I have just received an Acer 8935g and as there seems very little info on it I thought I would post up my initial impressions and add some photo's later.

Reasons for buying - I wanted a desktop replacement with decent sound quality and decent gaming quality so I can finally ditch my desktop. I have bought plenty of laptops in the past which have all been great for the odd LAN parties but would never replace my desktop. I am happy to say so far so good.

So first things first, Acers website is shocking and is very short of info. I spent days trying to dig up info on this model with very little success. The main thing that had been holding me back is the gfx card, in 1 sentence it says 4670 and in the next it says 4650. My main concern was that the 4650 would contain ddr2 ram.

I am pleased to confirm my model has the 4670. I went for the lower end model with P7350 as I already have a decent CPU to switch into it.

Build Quality - I have heard rumours of poor build quality and poor QA from Acer but I am happy to say my laptop is perfect, the construction seems solid and no defects to be found. It is very heavy at 4.1kgs but this is a desktop replacement for me, I wont be lugging it around on a daily basis ( I have a Dell studio 1555 for that)

Screen - The screen quality is average at best. It is far lower quality than my dell 1555 1080p screen. Although it is LED it does not have great brightness so I wont be using this outdoors. Also it is very glossy so lots of reflections. The contrast is also only average and colours look a little washed out. That being said Blurays looked good and 3dmark06 looked good, I am yet to install any games.

Keyboard - The keyboard is very good and easy to type on, it also has all the keys of a full size keyboard (so no Fn plus key for home etc). The keyboard is also backlit, I always thought backlit keyboards were a gimmick but now I have used one I would never go back, especially if like me you use your laptop in low light...........

View 10 Replies View Related

Acer :: Aspire 6920 Review (After 2 Years)

Apr 8, 2010

Hey folks. I wrote a review for The Acer Guy back when I first bought my laptop (Aspire 6920-6621), but it's time for an update.
(Link to my original review [url]
Here's some basic specs:
Windows Vista Home Premium
Two 140gig HD's
1.83GhZ Dual Core Intel Processor
3gig RAM
And some dinky graphics chip.

Well, after two years, I have to say it has held up but not as well as I think it should have.

A few months after writing my first review, I had to send my Laptop to Acer. Admittedly, the customer support was fantastic. They took care of me.

HOWEVER, I'm not pleased with how my computer came back. It wasn't put back together, and I didn't want to send it back to them again.

Regardless, the build quality is a bit iffy. Not sure if other people have had this issue, but cracks are forming in several places. The first time I sent the computer back, it was because of cracks on the bezel. They replaced it, but after a few months the cracks came back. There is also a crack on the bottom cover.

Keyboard flex is there but not too severe.

When I was dusting my keyboard, the sharp end of the spacebar snapped off, so now a good few mm's are missing. I sanded it down and it looks fine, but still.

The express card placeholder doesn't stay in well, in fact, if you aren't careful, the thing will come out.

In terms of performance, it's still holding up. I've not had any problems with Vista, and I game as well as code. Steam has given me a few C++ errors, but meh.

Audio quality is acceptable. The left speaker is crackling and the "subwoofer" adds a nice effect, but overall it's disappointing. Should be better for all the hype.

Screen quality is actually pretty good, much better than most computers I've used. The only thing that I've used that compares is a Mac.

View 7 Replies View Related

Acer :: Aspire One AOD150-1165 Review

Mar 1, 2009

I had seen these and similar units available for some time. The Acer models caught my attention the first time I came across them browsing through hardware for an order I was placing. They are sleek netbooks with a nice clean paint job resembling a showroom sports car. Ultra portable, thin and lite, these are the best balance of functionality and extreme mobility.

Like I said in my introduction I had seen these online for some time but never bought one. I thought they looked attractive but doubted there efficiency for office use. I didn't want to spend $300+ on something I wasn't sure could meet my needs. I had used a HP mini and hated it. Found the screen too small and unstable. Noticed some flickering with the HP units that turned me off from the netbook PCs. However something about the Acer units kept me curious.

The wife must have noticed how curious I had grown, and surprised me with one for Valentines Day. This was the best gift I could have gotten. This PC is awesome and totally destroyed my skepticism.............................

View 4 Replies View Related

Acer :: Aspire 6920G-812G32 Review

Aug 9, 2008

This 16" Aspire 6920/6920G cherished with notebook cinema excellence, enhancing high-def digital life with truly immersive audio and captivating video. Headlined by the Aspire CineReal Sensation - a suite of superior show-time advancements - HD entertainment has never looked, sounded or felt so good.

The CineReal Sensation boasts the 16:9 Acer CineCrystal Full HD display with 8 ms response time, Acer CineHD graphics with Blu-ray Disc playback and the NVIDIA GeForce 9500M GS GPU1.

It is also optimized the Dolby Home Theater technology via the Acer CineSurround audio system featuring two speakers, the Acer Tuba CineBass booster and True5.1-channel surround sound output; the CE-like CineDash media console, and much more. Wiithout waiting anymore, bring any high-def movies with these creative applications or beat upcoming games with this latest product from Acer!

View 4 Replies View Related

Acer :: Aspire 7720-6395 Review

Dec 15, 2007

I've uploaded my referenced screen grabs here since I ran into difficulties last night. This seemed like the logical solution.

I bought the Acer Aspire 7720-6395 yesterday. I couldn't find any reviews other than those on Best Buy's website (a couple are okay, but none comprehensive), so I hope to contribute to anyone else who might be considering it but unsure. I live an hour from the nearest big city, so any additional details would've made it easier to make the drive.

Forgive me if there are details you don't need or none that you do. I'll do my best.

I won't repeat the specs that Best Buy gives on their website, but I'll shed light on a couple that aren't clear through writing or screen grabs.

It seems that a number of people bought it thinking it had a Blu-Ray writer (BB had something on their site saying so, apparently), but be sure you note that it is only a Blu-Ray ROM drive. I say only...

Oh, and it is also a dual layer DVD writer and CD writer.

It has an integrated webcam and microphone if you're prone to video chatting.

The speakers are in a strip directly under the power and accessory buttons. It boasts "DOLBY DIGITAL LIVE" above the mesh, but they sound like most other decent laptop speakers. Not great, but pretty good all things considered.......................

View 13 Replies View Related

Acer :: Aspire 4315- Repair Review

May 15, 2008

I sent my Acer Aspire 4315 notebook to their repair center in Texas. I had a problem with the jack input for the power. It wasn't responding and found out that it was broken (Update: it wasn't actually broken it just felt very loose to the point were it might break). Also the left corner of the notebook was loose. In order to send in your notebook you have to use there online acer depot repair request system. So I sent it in using UPS ground which cost me $40. After 3 days I received and email saying it was received. 2 days later I receive another email saying it was fixed and will be shipped back using Fedex. Then 4 days later when I got home I received a "door tag" saying i wasn't there to pick up the package and sign for it. It came at 11:30 A.M and I get home a 4:00 P.M. So obviously I couldn't sign for it. Because of this problem I called and requested that they ship it after 4:00. They said they can ask the driver but it doesn't guarantee that will be shipped at the time you requested. So the next I come home I get another "door tag" saying I missed my package the second time. This time I asked them to leave it at there facility and let me pick it up. They said I would have to wait until tommorow to get my package. Tommorow arrives and I pick it up. Finally I have my notebook. I now drive back and open up the box. It came with a paper saying it was fixed. So I now get my AC adapter to plug it in. And guess what? They didn't fix the problem. I carefully looked at the paper and it said that they fixed problem stated which in there mind was the loose left corner of my notebook. WTF? They didn't even bother to fixed the important problem, the POWER JACK! That's horrible service! I then call them saying they didn't fix the problem. after being transferred 5 YES 5 TIMES! The support person said they will pay for the shipping to send it back. Which means that I will have to wait even more to get it back AGAIN and actually have it fixed. The only good part about it being shipped back is that they are going to use Fedex priority overnight. WOW WHAT A TREAT!

UPDATE: I havn't shipped the laptop back. I was about to until I decided to take one last "explore" inside of it. I found out that the power jack wasn't directly attached to the motherboard, just a wire leading to it. So with a little superglue or epoxy it would be fixed. Now that I know what to do. There will be no need to send it back and wait another horrible week!

View 4 Replies View Related

Acer :: Aspire AS5532 User Experience And Review

Dec 8, 2009

Hello every one, I am interested on the Acer Aspire AS5532 that is currently on sale at bestbuy, it have a single core AMD Athlon 54 1.6, with ATI video card, and also I am looking at the Acer 5517 from staples which have a 2ghz Turion II

I have used HP computers for the last 6 years and never owned an Acer, I know first hand that Acer quality wasnt the best a few years ago as I had to troubleshoot and fix my friend's Acer while in college, but now that my HP died I need a cheap and reliable laptop for the mean time. So I will like to know user experince with this models and if there is a review since I have search the forum and Cnet and theres is none.

Acer Aspire AS5532[url]

Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
AMD Athlon single-core TF-20 1.6Ghz
3GB DDR2 memory
160GB hard drive
15.6" HD Widescreen Acer CineCrystal LCD Display
ATI Radeon HD 3200 graphics
8X DVD-Super Multi Double-Layer Drive
Built-in InviLink high-speed wireless LAN (802.11b/g/Draft-N)
Multi-in-1 media reader
6-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery
1 year warranty

Acer Aspire 5517[url]

Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor L310
3GB installed memory
250GB hard drive
15.6" HD Widescreen Acer CineCrystal LCD Display
8X DVD-Super Multi Double-Layer Drive
Acer InviLink 802.11b/g Wi-Fi CERTIFIED
Multi-in-1 Digital Media Card Reader
6-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery
Multi-in-1 Digital Media Card Reader
Dimensions 14.4 (W) x 10.8 (D) x 1.1/1.5 (H) inches (6.1lbs)
1 year warranty

View 4 Replies View Related

Dell :: Vostro 3300 First Impression

Apr 16, 2010

My brandnew DELL Vostro 3300 has arrived, some days earlier than expected.

First impressions:

- Notebook is quite small, although somewhat bigger than I thought. (But that may come from the fact that I did much webbrowsing on a Motorola Milestone yesterday :-))
- Build quality seems okay. For the price in fact good.
- Notebook is very lightweight. I have to measure the exact weight, but it feels much lighter than a DELL Studio 15.
- Power supply unit is very small and lightweight. Seems to be the same as the Studio 15's.
- Display is bright, colours are bright, seems to be an exact (smaller) copy of the Vostro 3700 with the same very limited viewing angle (not much of a problem to me when you do mostly office work and software engineering with dark letters on bright background, but could be a problem if you want to play games with mostly dark background).
- Keyboard is backlit, surprisingly good.
- Display and keyboard have relatively much flex.
- Battery is 4 cell, seems to last approximately 2:30 (with maximum brightness, WLAN on and light office work)
- It's very fast.
- It doesn't emit much heat, feels quite cool.
- It's relatively silent, so far.

View 10 Replies View Related

Dell :: Just Got Studio 1737, My Impression

Apr 18, 2009

Picked up one at Futureshop in Toronto. Originally I wanted to go directly through Dell so I can upgrade to the 7200rpm sata harddrive, and possibly WLED display. In the end I couldn't want to wait x weeks for it to arrive (for work reasons).

Overall impression, very happy!

-I chose this mainly for the keyboard. Very simple english-only keyboard, with hardly any multi-functions on one key. No crazy labels and colors, just plain jane. Loved how all needed working keys are included like pgup/pgdn/home/end/del/backspace/etc... I find it infuriating on other laptops when any of these keys are missing, combined, too small, etc. Love the seperate numpad.

-Yes, the keyboard is 'flexy' but I don't think it warrants the amount heat ppl are giving it. I kind of like it flexy actually. Maybe they are on to something in terms of tactility or useability.

-Biggest disappointment: no backlit keyboard included !!!!! Was a shocker to me which I only discovered 5 hours later at night. If you order directly from Dell in Canada, do you get a backlit keyboard? Is there anyway this can be added or upgraded?

-Yes, it does have an eSata port! Some people have said only the 15" Studio version does does.

-Love the power and find-network buttons on either side of the display hinges. They got a rubbery touch and the placement makes sense.

-I am pretty sure I got a regular CCFL LCD with this, as Futureshop doesn't have the option to upgrade to WLED or RGB LED backlighting. I'll say I'm very happy with it, and my at home I am going to connect to a CRT anyways, which I can do colour correcting work on when I need to. I think I spent too much time worrying about upgrading the display when the regular CCFL LCD is fine.

View 10 Replies View Related

Dell :: Latitude E6500 -- 1st Impression

Sep 22, 2008

I have had a small amount of time with this machine, Dell latitude E6500 2.4ghz Dual Core, 160GB Hard Drive, 7200RPM Free Fall, NVIDIA Quadro NVS 160M DDR3 ram - I have 2gb ram, and will order another 2gb chip tomorrow, but so far I am thoroughly impressed I ordered a 2.26, but it seems that I got a 2.4 instead... I don't think I'll be calling in a complaint..

Extremely well built solid construction, keyboard is amazing, the best I have ever used on a laptop (some people say it has flex but I haven't noticed any), feedback is absolutely perfect, with a very soft noiseless click to report a keystroke. I have never been able to type this fast... Impressive... Back lit keyboard - sexy, secure fingerprint access works perfect, 1 swipe read every time I use it... far less screen flex then I have had on any other laptop I have used. Speakers are something to be desired, but I don't listen to music with them, I have 40K in home theater gear, so nothing lost to me..

Hinges on screen are completely solid, not worn in enough yet, takes 2 hands to open it, but I'm sure that will smooth out over time. LED screen is very impressive, resolution 1440x900 is really crisp and clear... colors are brilliant. I haven't run any tests, but 2.4 dual core is plenty fast... I'll know better when I try to extract something... Haven't done that for a long time.. Back of screen is brushed black aluminum, from what I understand, they are coming out with a Blue, which I saw online and it looks beautiful, I preferred that look, but the Black is flawless.... Its really a sleek looking laptop. First time I have used Vista, running 64 bit and so far I have 0 issues with it. Works as fast as my XP if not faster, only running 2gb ram but have 2 more on order.

Gripes, the transition from wrist rest to front of computer could be more tapered or smoother like the HP's, can be a bit rough, but certainly not a deal breaker. The mouse pad is a touch small, I am used to a larger one, but I'll get used to it, also I need to get used to the control of it, somewhat touchy, I find I'm highlighting stuff all the time, but again I'm sure that is something that I just have to get used to. I am happy there is no gloss anywhere on the computer, minimizes fingerprints.......

View 10 Replies View Related

HP/Compaq :: An Interesting First Impression (HP Envy 15)

May 3, 2010

So I purchased a 2nd Generation HP Envy 15 laptop about a week and a half ago, and it finally arrived today. I had been humming and hawing over a few different brands and decided to go with the Envy as I liked its overall score on my charts the best.

It came this morning, and I obviously was very excited. I had ordered it through an ebay power seller (also a NBR forum member that is well known) so didn't have any doubts it would have problems pertaining to the order. Well, it didn't really. Pertaining to the order.

Upon opening up the laptop box, I inspected it, and all was fine. Looked good, new, etc. This was the 2nd Gen Envy 15 so I couldn't buy it in Canada yet, thus the online order.

Well. I start up the laptop, and when it asks me to create a Username for the PC... THE KEYBOARD DOES NOT WORK. AT ALL.

No lights will turn on. No keys work. Nothing. No response from anything, even loading the laptop up I cannot enter the BIOS because the keys do not work.

I plugged in a USB keyboard and finally got Windows loaded, etc, and tried to re-install the keyboard drivers, but they say everything is working fine still, and the keyboard still does not work.

View 10 Replies View Related

HP/Compaq :: HP DV3T Initial Impression

Oct 15, 2009

I just got an HP DV3T to replace a Dell Studio 1555 laptop. I liked the Studio 1555 but I wanted a smaller size laptop and the HD 1080p screen, while beautiful, made text a real chore to read.

I received the DV3T a couple days ago and wanted to share my initial impressions for anyone else considering this laptop as there don't seem to be many on this forum who have it. I use my laptops for word processing, light photo editing, watching Hulu etc and general websurfing.

Things I like about the HP DV3T:

Size: It's perfect. Not too small yet small enough to be portable and lighter than a 15 inch laptop.
Build quality: It's very sturdy and does not feel fragile at all. I would describe the build quality as excellent. It does have a shiny finish however which is a real fingerprint magnet. I like the design (I have the black model) although the silver circles on it make it look like it was designed by Target.....

View 10 Replies View Related

Acer :: 4740G Review (Malaysia)

Apr 13, 2010

Intro

"Talk about your first impressions. Reasons for buying."
Its for work. Price point was actually as low as I could find in a proper branded laptop in stock YET with dedicated video. Initial impression was positive although I most of my history is with Dell. Primary thing is keyboard since for ME I prefer US layout vs UK which sometimes happens here.

Specs:
Primary items include the i3 and Nvidia 310M. 500GB drive, bluetooth, and 3USB ports were also notable items during my comparisons

What's in the Box:

Warranty card/info
90W power brick
battery
laptop (of course)
NOT included: media CD's

Design

"What do you think of the aesthetics of the notebook?"
Quite pleased so far but do not care for the fingerprint attracting surface on the back of the LCD (viewed when closed). The flush mounted look of all the buttons and power are nicely done.........................

View 4 Replies View Related

Acer :: Ferrari 1000 Review

Jun 13, 2009

Acer Ferrari 1000

Introductions

The Acer Ferrari 1000 is the fifth incarnation of the Acer Ferrari line. The Ferrari line was brought as a joint effort between Acer and AMD. The Ferrari part comes into play as both Acer and AMD are sponsors of the Scuderia Ferrari Formula 1 racing team. First impressions of the Acer Ferrari 1000 notebook brought about an impulsive need to purchase. This notebook sets itself apart from the crowd with performance and styling which will get it noticed on your trip to the local coffee house or anywhere for that matter. The Acer Ferrari 1000 is typically categorized as an ultra-compact notebook being that it is only a 12.1 inch notebook. This was one of the primary reasons that this reviewer had for purchasing the Acer Ferrari 1000. At the time this reviewer was looking for a notebook the primary concerns were small, lightweight and the ability to support 4GB or memory. The Acer Ferrari 1000 met all these needs and even delivered more. However, the Ferrari 1000 did not come cheap at an MSRP $1999.

The Ferrari 1000 was the first Ferrari to feature a 12.1 inch chassis, where previous generations were either a 15 or 15.4 inch chassis. Acer meticulously was able to engineer all the style, performance, and quality of the Ferrari line into a small 12.1 inch chassis. Furthermore, they just about got it right on the first try.

SpecificationsBrand Acer
Model Ferrari 1000
Processor AMD Turion X2 TL-60 Dual Core 2Gz, 1MB L2 cache (512KB per core)
Video Card Integrated ATI Express 1150 with Shared Memory up to 256MB
Display 12.1 inch 1280x800 resolution (WXGA) (16:10 aspect)
Chipset ATI Express 1150 (ATI RS485M + ATI SB460)
Memory 4GB DDR2 PC2-6400 800 MHz Memory
Disk Storage 500GB 5400RPM SATA hard drive
Audio 2 speakers
Media Bay 5-in-1 card reader (SD, MS, MS Pro, MMC, xD)
Battery 2 Batteries included 3-Cell 2000mAh & 6-Cell 5200mAh
Weight 3.7 lbs..........

View 5 Replies View Related

Acer :: 4810TZ & A Small Review

Oct 19, 2009

The design looks simply beautiful. The silver lid and the gun metal color inside is awsome. The dark colors inside will help in not causing any strain for your eyes even after working for long time.

The touchpad too has a matte finish, making it easy to use. It is very responsive. The scroll and zoom gestures helps a lot in reducing the effort though am not convinced with the third gesture, would be good if this gesture could be used for something better.

Option to turn off/on the bluetooth and wifi via the buttons/touch buttons is really good, I had trouble with some other laptops trying to find out how to do this.

The option to turnoff the screen helps conserve energy, while listening to music or doing some activity which do not need any human intervention. The screen is bright enough. I keep it at the lowest brightness while working, without any issues...............

View 5 Replies View Related

Acer :: Ferrari 5002 Review

Dec 13, 2007

First of all I have been thinking that why here is no such Review Available for this computer up till now. Anyhow I got this one but I was expecting it to be 5005 with 2.2 Ghz but anyhow I got better price too. I got this one for around 1000 US $ where 5005 was around 1800$.

My computer Specificaitons are:

Processor: AMD Turion (tm) 64 x2 Mobile TL-50 1.6 Ghz
RAM: 2GB
HD: 120 GB (5400RPM) SATA
VGA: ATI x1600 (512 with 256 Hyper Memory
Operatting System: XP Media Center

Other specifications can be requested. I was really very much willing to have review of this laptop over this computer that i hardly found. Though I did found nice pictures of this computer in the pictures section. Uptill now I am not able to get any nice score form this comptuer as I was expecting due to which now I am thinking I should have gone for Aspire 5920G as it comes with Nvidia 8600GT and having Ferrari was not a good choice as I am casual gamer. But its appearance and overall outlook is very attractive. Specially the name: FERRARI though Ferrari is not performing upto its name. My old system was.
Acer Aspire 5651 AWLMi
Core Duo: 1.73 Ghz
RAM: 2GB
HD: 120 GB (5400 RPM) SATA
VGA: Nvidia 7600 (128 MB)......................

View 15 Replies View Related

HP/Compaq :: HP Review

May 27, 2009

i just bought a laptop [url] and i was wonderhing what you think? just lookin for some reviews on it!

View 6 Replies View Related

HP/Compaq :: HP DM4 Review

May 21, 2010

Read the DM4 review here...

HP Pavilion dm4 Review - A Review of the HP Pavilion dm4

Basically, it runs cool AND has great battery life, which is fantastic to here. I think HP finally turned their ship around. I had their previous 14in machines and they all suffered from crap battery life and very high temperatures. To hear that the machines run very cool and get 5 hours of battery life on the standard 6-cell battery is really great.

This bodes well for their other systems, as all HP designs seem to mimic one another. If one model has heat/battery issues, they all do, as I've read of similar horror stories in the DV6000 and what not.

They got 5 hours of battery life with the 6-cell, i5-520, and Intel graphics. That's really phenomenal as far as I'm concerned. They offer switchable ATI graphics, so you can opt for discrete graphics and still get the 5 hours...

View 10 Replies View Related

Dell :: Review My Build

Jul 10, 2007

What do you think about my configuration?

Inspiron 1520 Intel Core 2 Duo T7500 (2.2GHz/800Mhz FSB/4MB cache)
Genuine Windows Vista Home Basic Edition
System Color Spring Green
Memory FREE! 2GB Shared Dual Channel DDR2 at 667MHz
LCD Panel High Resolution, glossy widescreen 15.4 inch display (1440x900)
Video Card 256MB NVIDIA GeForce Go 8600M GT
Hard Drive 160G 7200RPM SATA HDD
Network Card and Modem Integrated 10/100 Network Card and Modem
Combo or DVD+RW Drive CD / DVD writer (DVD+/-RW Drive)
Sound Card Integrated Sound Blaster AudigyHD Software Edition
Wireless Networking Cards Intel 3945 802.11a/g Mini-card
Camera Integrated 2.0M Pixel Webcam
Anti-Virus/Security Suite (Pre-installed) I chose Security with Value, Plus,or Premium Warranty Bundle
Battery Options 85Whr Lithium Ion Battery (9 cell)
Limited Warranty, Services and Support Options DellCare Plus
Doms Camera Module Spring Green color w/ 2.0M pixel Camera
Processor Branding Intel Centrino Core Duo Processor
Labels Windows Vista Basic

View 11 Replies View Related

Dell :: Informal Review Of XPS 16

Aug 13, 2009

This isn't a full review but I wanted to post my thoughts after a few days with the Studio XPS 16. Maybe this will help others considering this notebook among others to make a decision.

I ordered it from the Outlet, $1149 for SXPS 16 with P8600, 1GB ATI 4670, RGBLED screen, 500gb drive, Intel 5300 wifi, DVD/RW. I got the 9 cell for additional $80.

This seemed like too good a deal to pass up, particularly since it was "previously ordered new" rather than refurbished or scratch/dent .....

View 6 Replies View Related

Dell :: REVIEW:My New XPS M1530

Sep 24, 2008

Finally i got new XPS M1530 as a replacement today, with the following configuration:

Intel C2D T8100 2GHZ @ 800MHZ FSB, 3MB L2
3GB Samsung @667 MHZ Ram
1280x800 Samsung WXGA screen
250gb WD@5400 rpm
Nvidia 8600GT @DDR3
intel(R) 4965AGN Wireless-N Mini-Card
Integrated Sound Blaster Audigy ADVANCED HD Audio Software
Tuxedo Black LCD display with Integrated 2.0 mega pixel web cam
6cell Battery
Vista HP SP1
McAfee(R) Security Center(TM) 30 days trial
CompleteCover/ CompleteCover Guard Technical Guide include
1-year XPS Premier Service with 1-year CompleteCover
#1 Year Complete Cover Accidental Damage Protection
1 Year Priority PC User 24x7 Support (Round-The-Clock Technical Assistance)
# Year 1 Standard POW

i received this afternoon, i inspected thoroughly later in i did format and installed vista Ultimate with SP1, then installed all the necessary drivers also installed DELL MD 4.

PROS
i ran 3dmark 06 soon after installation of all drivers, i got score of 4671
next thing i noticed the temperature its idles between 57-60c
when i ran 3dmark 06 the max temp reached was 82c.
the HD is 250gb WD@5400rpm, the drive is so quieter

Everything is perfect except 2 issues, one is DVD drive makes lot of noise while reading dvds, and little bit bulge near the XPS |M1530 logo not visible tho, also the cover over the speakers on the lest part of hinge has come up, also not visible much

This time what i noticed is my dvd writer makes noise continously while reading the dvd, i did noticed the noise while installing vista, also during installation of drivers and other software DVD. and the noise is pretty loud and annoying.

Except those im overall satisfied with my new system, im feeling good, i guess the noise from my dvd writer may soon disappear, if not, need to be replace the DVD writer.

i havent ran much benchmarking tools except 3dmark06, yet to test few games later in.

View 10 Replies View Related

Dell :: Review: XPS M1330

Sep 23, 2007

The XPS M1330 is the second Dell laptop I've owned. The Inspiron 9400 put me off buying another Dell - for the wrong reasons really. I didn't want another high end laptop with poor battery life, and at just over �1000, the XPS M1330 seemed like a good choice. At 13.3" it's portable and packed with features....

View 9 Replies View Related

Dell :: New Mini Review!

Apr 3, 2010

Dell Inspiron New Mini 10.
This netbook was received as a contest award (Canada Dell Mini Contest)


System specs:

CPU: Atom N450 (1.6GHz, 512K L2 Cache)

Display: 10.1" Widescreen Display (1024x600) Integrated 1.3M Pixel Webcam

OS: Windows7 Starter for Small Notebook PCs,32Bit .....

View 8 Replies View Related

Dell :: First Studio 14z Review Up!

Jul 15, 2009

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GSw_d...e=channel_page

Just wanted to let everyone know that Digital Home Thoughts just uploaded their 23 minute review of the 14z.

View 10 Replies View Related

Dell :: Review - Inspiron 17R [T3]

Jul 15, 2010

Excellent performance, but poor portability from this Inspiron

Mobility be dammed. Weighing over 3Kg, the Dell Inspiron 17R is a back breaker. Double that with the low battery life and its clear this laptop is not for seekers of portability. Fortunately for Dell - and us - its desktop replacement credentials are brilliant.

The Inspiron 17R we had comes with a peacock blue case but you can choose tomato red or mars black. The peacock blue isnt as garish as it sounds and actually has a nice chrome finish that looks good against the gun-metal insides it just doesnt look like its trying to imitate anything else.

View 10 Replies View Related







Copyrights 2005-15 www.BigResource.com, All rights reserved