HP/Compaq :: Mini User Review Of ThePavilion Dm3t With SP9300 + G105M Graphics

Jan 30, 2010

Prior to 2006, there was a distinct difference between Apple and the PC industry. Apple specialized in design, and still does, and the PC industry won over customers by wooing them with the best bargain available—features for the price charged—and almost always at the cost of a pedestrian design. In 2006, in an ambitious bid to gain market share, HP launched a massive and hugely successful marketing campaign known as, “The Computer Is Personal Again,” and redesigned all of its laptops with the extremely popular high-gloss Imprint finish. In less than 2 years, HP unseated Dell as the undisputed leader in PC shipments and maintains that lead today.

3 years later, HP is back again (perhaps) to change the game. Borrowing from design cues from Apple’s Macbook Pro line, HP launched the dm3 in late October and the tm2 earlier this month, with designs that feature a brushed aluminum finish. Is it successful? Read more to find out.

How this laptop was purchased

I had shopped for a while to look for a new computer to replace my aging dv6000t from back in the Windows XP days. My options were the HP Pavilion dm3t and the Sony VAIO CW. I visited a Best Buy to check out some of the laptops, and I can say that I was absolutely repulsed by the build quality of the Dells these days. They suck. Period. What really won me over from the Sony CW was the build quality of the dm3t. The aluminum finish really is outstanding. More on that later................

View 10 Replies


HP/Compaq :: Is ThePavilion Dv8t Quad Edition Graphics Card Upgradeable

Nov 11, 2009

I'm thinking about diving into the purchase of the HP dv8t, everything about looks good on paper except that the video card is a bit anemic.

I want to know if the motherboard uses the MXM standard and if the GeForce GT 230M inside is upgradeable in the future or is it soldered onto the motherboard?

Isn't it the replacement for HDX18?

View 10 Replies View Related

HP/Compaq :: NEWDV6 2010 User Review

May 31, 2010

Long time lurker finally decided to join, best to start of my post count with a lengthy review on HP's new DV6 line.

I’d like to give people interested in HP's new dv6 line a heads up. This came about mainly due to the lack of reviews anywhere on the internet. Anyone with a dv6, feel free experience on the dv6.

Last weekend i purchased a HP DV6 3032tx with specs found here:

HP Pavilion dv6-3000 Entertainment Notebook PC series Home & Home Office

I went into JB HI-FI Australia buying a 13" mac and ending up getting this mainly due to the value, at a similar price as the dv6 was purchased at JB's cost price.

This has been my experience with the product so far

The third generation of the dv6 line has been completely revamped by removing the numeric pad (I personally hate the num pads), and adding a nice chicklet keyboard with some quick launch buttons. One stand out factor is the thickness. It' still 30mm thick however the actually visible thickness is less than 1" thanks to some beautiful tapered edge design. The aluminium/magnesium shell with black keyboard is very mac like, and reminds me of HP's premium ENVY line of notebooks. On the i7 models only the palm rests and lids have a nice looking imprint finish which is very subtle and maintains its professional look. When the system is on, a HP logo glows white on the bottom left hand corner of the lid...

View 10 Replies View Related

Dell :: Latitude E6400 User Review

Nov 22, 2008

It's been over a full week that I use my Latitude E6400 in great depth and here is my review on it. Now, before I start, I would like to apologies for my English, mistakes found are not done by any means of disrespect among you, the reader. Another note, I believe reading several reviews which all says the same thing is kind of useless, so I tried my best to present thing that was not mentioned before. This explains the reason why I don’t show the usual benchmarks, temperature on the machine, etc…

If this is the first review you read, I suggest you to read other reviews on notebookreview.com before reading this one. You can see me as a critical person.

Latitude E6400 Review

I use my laptop to run Office 2007 suit programs to type notes in classes, Steinberg WaveLab 5 to record them. I also use the laptop to do my assignments (Java/C++) at school and anywhere I want to go, as well as my own programming projects (large Flash application). Obviously, I use my machine to check my e-mail with Thunderbird, listen to music, and surf the web, etc... Ah yes, and I do plan to perform some light casual gaming on it on rare occasion.

System selected:Intel Core 2 Duo P8500 (2.26 GHz)Vista SP1 Business edition 64-bitDual Channel (2 stick) 4GB of RAM 800Mhz DDR2 (6-6-6-12) Samsung 1440x900 LED backlit display (LG, I believe)Backlit keyboardIntel Wireless N 5100 cardPanasonic DVD-Burner Dell 9 cell battery (made by: Panasonic)Nvidia Quadro NVS 160MHitachi 160GB HDD 5200RPMSuper detailed system configuration [56K modem warning!]:

When I received my laptop two weeks ago, it was damaged, there was a dent, passing through the process of asking a new one and compensation was easy. I was never put on hold, service was great and in proper English speaking staff (possible location of service: U.S/Canada). I had fun trying all to call all the provided services offered, and the service was very good, one could say almost excellent. I negotiated the price of my machine when I originally ordered it (this was the only time I talked to someone potentially in India), and the service was fast, again no hold time, and negotiation on the price was easy. The sale representative didn't know his stuff on the laptop and claimed to me that it had Latitude ON. Obviously I don't have it, as it cannot be added to the machine, and I asked compensation for that as well. This was done without issue, and I got an apology from the sale representative and its supervisor and Dell customer service supervisor (note that I also got another apology from Dell customer service when I informed them of the damaged machine).

Returning the machine for a replacement was easy and fast. Dell sent me a UPS label via e-mail, which I had to print and put on the Dell box, and call UPS to come and pick it up.

Packaging of the laptop was excellent. The box properly protected the machine, and the size is not excessively big where it wastes uselessly space, and not too small like some laptops that you buy in store, which fells like it was made from paper masher. Moreover, putting everything back in the box was very easy. The packaging could potentially lose a full mark as the accessory box is pretty much empty and could make the box smaller. However, considering that more accessories could be added onto the box, and that the box layout is designed for all or almost all Dell laptops, I can't deduct marks for that.
I gave it a 10/10

Not much to say, I did get 4 disks with my laptop:
- Drivers and Utility disk
- Power DVD DX 8.0 disk
- Roxio version 9.0 DE disk
- Microsoft Vista 64-bit disk.
and 90W slim Latitude power adapter which I'll get to that later...........

View 10 Replies View Related

Acer :: Aspire AS5532 User Experience And Review

Dec 8, 2009

Hello every one, I am interested on the Acer Aspire AS5532 that is currently on sale at bestbuy, it have a single core AMD Athlon 54 1.6, with ATI video card, and also I am looking at the Acer 5517 from staples which have a 2ghz Turion II

I have used HP computers for the last 6 years and never owned an Acer, I know first hand that Acer quality wasnt the best a few years ago as I had to troubleshoot and fix my friend's Acer while in college, but now that my HP died I need a cheap and reliable laptop for the mean time. So I will like to know user experince with this models and if there is a review since I have search the forum and Cnet and theres is none.

Acer Aspire AS5532[url]

Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
AMD Athlon™ single-core TF-20 1.6Ghz
3GB DDR2 memory
160GB hard drive
15.6" HD Widescreen Acer CineCrystal™ LCD Display
ATI Radeon HD 3200 graphics
8X DVD-Super Multi Double-Layer Drive
Built-in InviLink high-speed wireless LAN (802.11b/g/Draft-N)
Multi-in-1 media reader
6-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery
1 year warranty

Acer Aspire 5517[url]

Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor L310
3GB installed memory
250GB hard drive
15.6" HD Widescreen Acer CineCrystal™ LCD Display
8X DVD-Super Multi Double-Layer Drive
Acer InviLink™ 802.11b/g Wi-Fi CERTIFIED
Multi-in-1 Digital Media Card Reader
6-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery
Multi-in-1 Digital Media Card Reader
Dimensions 14.4 (W) x 10.8 (D) x 1.1/1.5 (H) inches (6.1lbs)
1 year warranty

View 4 Replies View Related

HP/Compaq :: Dv2000-when I Start It Up And It Gets To The User Selection Screen I Cant Find My Cursor To Select My User Account

Jan 15, 2009

i got a hp dv2000 and sometimes when i start it up and it gets to the user selection screen i cant find my cursor to select my user account. I keep moving my finger on the touch pad but cant find it. I have to hold the power button down it will shut off then i have to pull out the battery start it up and the cursor is now there this has happened like 5 times already what would cause this?

View 3 Replies View Related

HP/Compaq :: HP Bluetooth Laser Mobile MouseHDX Series [Mini Review]

Jan 24, 2010

Just had to share my experience with HP's Bluetooth mouse they currently offer because I can barely find any information regarding their mouse, just that they offer it and the specs. I just recieved it, I've gotten about an hour or two of full use with it after an awful installtion on Windows 7. So yeah my thoughts so far, pretty nice once you get it working.

Another thing, if you have EPP discount, or Academic discounts, and some other coupon codes you can get this at a nice deal. I was able to get it for about 44$ with a retractable mouse (20$) and free shipping at that point. So I got about 81$ (including shipping) worth of stuff for 44$, almost 50% off with all the discounts I had. Not bad I would assume for a nice looking mouse.

I'm just trying to provide an informational post with this mini-review. I hope it helps some people who are looking for a BT mouse.

In a couple words, pretty bad. Being bluetooth, I'd thought I'd fire up my bluetooth adapter, then just hit pair using native Windows, and let Win Update do it's thing if needed. Everything went through fine, choose no pairing code, and things installed, but things didn't work. Threw in the disc, followed instructions, no worky still. After a restart, and trying again, seemed to work....


View 5 Replies View Related

HP/Compaq :: Photodon Antiglare Film On A Dv4z Infinity Display Mini-review

Apr 9, 2009

The extreme glare of HP's Infinity displays and lesser glare of glossy screens in general has a cure: antiglare films, which also provide scratch protection. I found a very comprehensive review of the options here:

Screen Protector Shootout Results

Photodon LCD protector sheets were highly rated, and since Photodon is in my home state of Michigan I ordered from them. I went with a larger than normal custom cut for my HP dv4z's Infinity display, figuring (correctly) that I'd want the film to be a little larger than the LCD panel since there's no bezel. I got the width right, 310mm, but I guessed low on the height. 194mm should be about right. Being mechanically disinclined I did a poor job applying the film but it still looks good. Some pics:

Glare screen, no flash, creepy serial killer gloves from the Photodon installation kit

Glare screen, flash on

Photodon antiglare film, flash off

Photodon antiglare film, flash on

Photodon antiglare film, notebook on, flash off..................

View 4 Replies View Related

HP/Compaq :: How's ThePavilion Dv6-1264ca

Aug 3, 2009

• AMD Turion™ X2 Ultra ZM-82 Dual-Core Mobile Processor

• 16.0" Diagonal High Definition(8) HP LED Brightview Display (1366x768)

• ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 4650 (M96) with up to 2815MB total available
graphics memory with 1024MB dedicated

• 4096MB DDR2 System Memory (2 Dimm)

• 500GB (5400RPM) Hard Drive (SATA)(7)

- under 1000$ with coupon code

will this laptop get overheated easily? How's the quality?

View 5 Replies View Related

Apple :: Graphics User Looking To Switch To Mac

Mar 30, 2009

I am a graphic designer and I a longtime PC user. I am looking to make the switch and since I have a 22" LCD monitor, the macbook is very appealing to me because when at home i can just hook it up to that and also have a very nice portable laptop.

As far as which macbook model to get is where I am having problems I know the entry level aluminum one is the P7350 @2ghz and the high end one is P8600 @ 2.4ghz. Either way I will be most likely upgrading the ram to 4gb but which processor should i go with? I get mixed reviews from apple friends some say I will definitely notice the cpu difference while some say it is only marginal in real world use. MY most intense program will be illustrator/photoshop / multi-tasking.

View 10 Replies View Related

HP/Compaq :: Recalls Affecting ThePavilion Dv9000

Jan 1, 2009

I've heard some folks mention recalls on the dv9000. I can't find any info on the HP website that mention it, though.

Anyone know what the specific recalls were?

View 7 Replies View Related

HP Mini 110 Recovery :: User Profile Cannot Be Loaded

Dec 23, 2014

I can't log on to my laptop.messages always pops up  THE USER PROFILE SERVICE SERVICE FAILED THE LOG ON  and on the bottom it says USER PROFILE CANNOT BE LOADED.

View 1 Replies View Related

HP/Compaq :: HP Dm3t Configuration

Dec 2, 2009

These laptops are equipped with the CULV processors from Intel. However, the highest processor upgrade option, the Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo Processor SP9300 (2.26GHz, 6M Cache) does not appear to be a CULV. According to Intel's website, it runs on 25 volts, rather than the 10 volts the other processors for this laptop run on. Considering that battery life is one of the primary reasons for me purchasing this laptop,I am concerned as to how that will effect battery life. Could someone shed some light on this issue?

Portability and battery life is a necessity. However, I am concerned that the Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo Processor SU7300(1.3GHz,3M Cache) will not be enough processor to be used as my primary computer. I do not demand a lot from my computer; I typically run several tabs in Google Chrome and run Microsoft Word simultaneously. Occasionally, I also use websites like Hulu that would demand more of a processor. My main concern is this laptops ability to be my primary computer and its longevity due to the smaller processor.

View 8 Replies View Related

HP/Compaq :: Dm3t Vs Probook 4320s

Mar 11, 2010

I recently ordered a dm3t with pretty much all the upgrades during one of the sales.

Pretty much the same day I did that, the probook 4320s showed up on their website.

I'm trying to decide if I should return the dm3t and order one of the probooks. Right now the probook doesn't offer the discreet 512mb graphics card or 64 bit OS as choice but the customer support people say it will become available soon.

Basically I just dont know if it's worth the extra money for things like a better cpu, gpu, DVD, and fingerprint scanner.

View 9 Replies View Related

HP/Compaq :: DM3T Screen Dimming Randomly

Nov 10, 2009

I just got a HP DM3T and so far it is great, except for one thing. For some reason when on battery power the brightness seems to randomly darken (not turn off) and then it will lighten back up when I go to a different program or page. I am sure this is some sort of power saving feature but it is driving me crazy. Is there any way to disable this feature so when on battery the screen stays the same brightness? I apologize if this issue has been covered already, I must not be searching with the right terms. . .

View 7 Replies View Related

HP/Compaq :: HP DM3T Battery Life Well Short Of 10 Hours

Dec 7, 2009

I have the following set-up on my DM3T that is getting 4.5-5 hours of battery life at a maximum with light use, ie: lowest screen brightness, wifi off, word processing. I am not running any background programs (anti-virus) or anything else that is resource intensive.

SU4100 1.3ghz 2MB L2 cache
4gb DDR3 ram
320gb 5400rpm HD

Why am I getting less than 5 hours of battery life on a unit with low specs that is supposed to get "up to" 10 hours?? Is this consistent with what everyone else is getting? Battery bar currently says that my battery's 'full lifetime' is 4:58. I just returned an Acer timeline that had the same processor and 3gb of ram instead of 4, and that thing was getting 8-10 hours easily.

View 10 Replies View Related

Dell :: New Mini Review!

Apr 3, 2010

Dell Inspiron New Mini 10.
This netbook was received as a contest award (Canada Dell Mini Contest)

System specs:

CPU: Atom N450 (1.6GHz, 512K L2 Cache)

Display: 10.1" Widescreen Display (1024x600) Integrated 1.3M Pixel Webcam

OS: Windows7 Starter for Small Notebook PCs,32Bit .....

View 8 Replies View Related

Dell :: Mini 9n Netbook Review

Mar 28, 2009

I bought this laptop to replace the company-issued one that I've used on personal excursions for a few years, since I'll soon be leaving my current employer.

Portability and battery life were my primary concerns, followed immediately by price. I'm a programmer, but most of my work is done remotely by SSH, so power isn't a real concern. 90% of my intended use is a mix of ssh and firefox.


Given my requirements, and the fact that I'm a die-hard Linux proponent,

I went with the Ubuntu version with a 4GB SSD and 1GB RAM. I got the integrated wifi and bluetooth modules, as well as the 1.3MP webcam.

The wifi was the only requirement, but the other two were cheap enough that I included them as amusements. I typically leave the bluetooth soft-disabled .....

View 12 Replies View Related

Dell :: Mini Inspiron Review

Oct 26, 2008

Dell Inspiron Mini 9 Review.

The 8.9” SVGA (1024x600) LED backlight screen is impressive. Outside, with full sunlight directly on the screen I am able to view this review with no problems!
XGA (1024x768) is still the standard resolution (established in 1990) and many applications, websites, etc are optimized for XGA not SVGA. You might have to do some side scrolling but it’s definitely tolerable. For example, I wrote this entire review on the mini 9 (no cheating).

The only other netbook I’ve been able to use is the ASUS eee PC 900. Compared to the ASUS’s keyboard the mini 9’s is great! It may take some time getting used to but this keyboard it is bearable, unlike the ASUS. The function keys (F1, F2, etc)have been replaced with function keys, meaning you have to press the Fn key to access the function keys (i.e. Fn + A = F1). The F11 and F12 keys are gone, no ifs and or buts about it. Keep that in mind if any of your applications require these two keys.

Batty Life
GREAT! I clocked 3 and a half hours under some pretty heavy usage.

Memory card reader
I only tested a SD card, it works fine and the card fits fully into the machine. Some notebooks only insert ½ the card leaving the other half hanging out........

View 12 Replies View Related

Dell :: Mini 9 Inspiron Review ...

Sep 22, 2008

Got one of the new Dell Mini 9 notebooks or netbooks as some call them today. Have had much too little time with it, but wanted to post a review anyway. Here's what I've learned so far...

I ordered the $449 Windows XP version with 1 gig ram and the 16 gig SSD hard drive. The unit only comes with a 1024x600 screen which is adequate, but I do wish one of the netbook makers would push the limit to 1280x800. It also has a 4 cell battery good for about 3 hours, and the standard port setup of 3 USB, VGA, sound in/out and an ethernet. There is also a slot for an SD card to help out the small SSD hard drive if desired.

What's in the box.
The system came with only a power adapter, which is not more than just a normal looking power brick, so you'll need a plug with room to use it. And, the OS CD, resource CD and Works CD. And, a terse manual and other odd paper work. The power cord is plenty long enough so getting power to it is not hard at all. The power plug is located on the left had side of the unit near the back....................

View 15 Replies View Related

Dell :: Vostro 1720 Mini-Review

May 23, 2009

Build Quality and Finish
My first impression as I unpacked the laptop was how light it felt for a 17” notebook. By comparison, my older Dell 9400 (E1705) seems much heavier. I don’t hear any creaking/groaning of plastics when I hold the laptop from one corner and, overall, the chassis appears rigid and well constructed. Aesthetically, this machine will not be a compliment generator. It’s industrial design is simple (read: bland), straightforward (read: uninspired), and utilitarian. A business laptop through and through.

The display hinges (one of the first things I check on new laptops) are excellent. There is absolutely no screen wobble when opening the display and hinges have a nice strong feeling. Of course, hinges often start to wear many months into ownership but my initial impression is very positive.

The display bezel has some rather unsightly hooks for the screen latch but I still appreciate the ability to lock the panel down before transport. The media key console above the keyboard is, in a word, ugly. The buttons are simple squares with boring symbols printed inside. The blue LED indicator lights are nice and, in a rare example of engineering forethought, are not blindingly bright.

The palm rest flexes when pressure is applied and has a slightly hollow sound when tapped. One small feature that I really appreciate is Dell softened and curved the forward edge of the palm rest to ensure your hands don’t sit on a sharp edge.

When closed, the display does not sit perfectly flush with the palm rest and has a 2-3 millimetre gap (however the right and left gaps are equal - so the rubber bumpers may be just a little too short). For a budget laptop, I consider this acceptable.

Fan(s) are very quiet when idle but do ramp up under high CPU/GPU loads (gaming) but have a low pitch and are not distracting. The exhaust is located on the left side of the computer.

***UPDATE: After further use, I have found that the fan(s) can become quite loud and distracting when gaming for 20-30 minutes. Under load (Crysis, Fallout 3, etc.), the 9600 GS video card does heat up considerably over time. Examining the bottom of the laptop, a very small air intake is provided for the video card and appears insufficiently sized for good airflow. If you value a quiet gaming experience, this could be a deal-breaker***

I opted for the 1440x900 LED-backlight matte panel. Brightness uniformity is good but colours are somewhat muted compared to Dell’s TrueLife panels. Contrast is also significantly lower than the glossy displays. If you’ve ever used one of Dell’s business-class matte monitors you can expect an almost identical image quality with this panel. At it’s highest setting, panel brightness is more than adequate and, in a darker work environment, I would knock the brightness down 3-4 steps (of 7 total brightness levels). Despite the trade-offs (muted colours and lower contrast), the absence of annoying reflections that plague glossy displays is a nice benefit. I would rate the viewing angles (both horizontal and vertical) as average......

View 10 Replies View Related

Dell :: Review - Inspiron Mini 10 [TESTFREAKS]

Mar 9, 2010

The dell inspiron Mini 10 is a new 10-inch model. The notebook will come together with the latest Intel Atom platform.


The system of this laptop will be equipped with a 1.6GHz Atom Z530 processor. This edition of dell will also come with a number of built-in features such as a TV tuner, mobile broadband, GPS or wireless 802.11n Internet connectivity. The product has a number of battery options such as a 3-cell and 6-cell versions that are available to t…

View 10 Replies View Related

Dell :: Review - Inspiron Mini 10 [PCADVISOR]

Mar 9, 2010

The Dell Inspiron Mini 10 netbook has been around in various guises for a while, and Dell recently updated the entry-level version of this netbook with a newer Intel Atom N450 processor. The Z530 processor used in this version has several of the advantages that the upgraded ‘N' version offers and lowers the price tag to a very tempting £229 inc VAT.

The Dell Inspiron Mini 10 netbook with the 1.6GHz Atom Z530 processor is accompanied by 1GB of RAM, 802.11g Wi-Fi, ethernet, three USB ports, a headphone output, a microphone input, an HDMI output and a 10.1in (1024x600) screen.

Dell offers several options for customising your Inspiron Mini 10 netbook when you order it online, such as a choice of white, blue or green coloured lids (for an extra £19) or even a patterned sticker for £35. But note that the Mini 10 is limited to 1GB RAM, and this is not easily user-upgradable later on.

When customising your model, you can also choose to upgrade to a 1366x768 resolution screen. We found the extra resolution makes a difference if you're used to modern screens. The Dell Inspiron Mini 10 netbook also includes an integrated TV tuner - an unusual addition to a netbook and the reason Dell has seen fit to include better graphics support.

The 10.1in screen looks a little small on the Dell Inspiron Mini 10 netbook; the chassis could easily have accommodated an 11in screen. Instead, you're left with a lot of wasted border surrounding the screen. The visual quality is surprisingly decent with reasonable contrast, colour reproduction and viewing angles.

The Dell Inspiron Mini 10 netbook's keyboard is large enough to type on easily, but the Fn keys, Home/End buttons and arrows are a bit cramped. The trackpad is a sort of buttonless design where you press on the lower left or right corner to left- or right-click, but it's hard to use in practice.

The Dell Inspiron Mini 10 netbook's performance isn't great, scoring just 32 points in our WorldBench 6 real-world speed test, but the battery lasts for seven hours, which did impress us.

View 10 Replies View Related

Dell :: Review - Inspiron Mini 10 [PCWORLD]

Mar 9, 2010


Decent TV tuner
Good design with small, light layout


Mediocre netbook performance
High-res screen is a little hard to read

Bottom Line

Despite a decent design, this netbook's screen and limited storage don't make it the ideal platform for a TV tuner.

Netbooks are a lot cheaper than full-size notebooks, the battery lasts a lot longer, and if you spend most of your time in a Web browser anyway, the performance limitations aren't that big a deal. With the Mini 10, Dell attempts to tap into the desires of this market the same way so many companies do--by utilizing Intel's diminutive Atom processor.

What you may not realize is that the Atom has two common versions, the N-series and the Z-series. The Mini 10 netbook uses the Z-series. The primary difference between the two versions is that the Z-series features a chipset with a better graphics processor in it. It's a better match for Vista's GPU-accelerated desktop, though we wouldn't recommend trying to run Vista on this system. More important, the Z-series chipset supports the kind of video acceleration technology that makes it possible to play back video reasonably smoothly (something the Atom N-series doesn't do too well).

The Mini 10 with the Atom Z530 processor (1.6GHz) that we tested costs $534 as configured. The price puts our Mini 10 beyond the usual upper limit of a netbook (though units start at under $350). In addition to the Atom Z530 processor, our test unit had 1GB of soldered-on RAM, 802.11g Wi-Fi, an ethernet jack (10/100, not gigabit), three USB ports, headphone output, mic input, an HDMI-output, and a slightly higher-res screen than most 10-inch netbooks (1366 by 768). Frankly, the extra resolution doesn't do much at this size, and you'll find yourself squinting to read on it. You could always increase the size of icons and fonts and such, but Windows XP doesn't handle such resizing very gracefully. The reason for that video kick is in no small part due to the optional on-board HDTV tuner that came with our unit.

Yep, this nondescript input jack sits somewhere between a USB port, a combination SD/Memory Stick card reader, and a power plug on the left side. It seems a little out of place, but the internal Hauppauge WinTV MOD7700 ATSC tuner meshes pretty well with the included Dell Digital TV software. As long as you get a decent signal with the included antenna, TV video plays back fairly smoothly. But why put a TV tuner in a netbook? It makes sense in a larger notebook where you might want to record TV and then watch it on the road, but the small, slow hard drives in netbooks are no good for that. You actually have to pull the tuner and the antenna out and hunt for a signal. It'd be easier to find a real TV.

The video decoding in general (TV and otherwise) is mediocre--HDTV channels are just a little choppy, and standard-def channels need to be cleaned up a little. And the real problem is that the GMA500 integrated graphics doesn't do anything for most Web video, like Hulu or YouTube. Watching even standard-def YouTube videos at normal size in the browser window was such a choppy mess that you want to stop watching in seconds. Now if Dell incorporates this feature into a Ion-based netbook, that would probably make all the difference.

The 10.1-inch screen actually looks a little small on this system, in part because the body is large enough to accommodate an 11-inch screen. A lot of border surrounds the screen, and that doesn't combine well with the relatively high resolution and small size. It only exaggerates the impression that you're straining to read the screen. But in actual visual quality, the screen is surprisingly decent for something so small and cheap, with reasonable contrast, color reproduction, and viewing angles.

The keyboard is large enough to type on easily, but the "extra" keys like function keys, Home/End, and arrows are a bit cramped. The trackpad is the biggest bother. It's a sort of buttonless design where you need to press on the lower left or right corner to left- or right-click, but it's hard to use in practice. You'll often move the pointer when trying to click, resulting in more mis-clicks and no-clicks than you should really have to deal with.

The Mini 10's performance is about what you would expect from an Atom-based notebook. Even running just Windows XP, the system quickly becomes unresponsive. Though low performance is a fact of life on most netbooks, the Mini 10 performed a tad worse than most of its competition, scoring just 32 on WorldBench 6. The best netbooks in its price range score in the upper 30s. Battery life is good at a little under 7 hours, but not as stellar as the ASUS Eee Pc 1005HA or the Toshiba Mini NB205-N310 (the later lasts a little under 10 hours). You can't even "hackintosh" the Mini 10 (the process of buying a compatible notebook and installing OS X on it). The integrated GMA500 graphics is incompatible.

All that said, this $500-plus netbook seems a little pricey because of all the extra on-board bells and whistles that came with our review model. Drop down to a lower-res screen, forget the TV tuner, and you have a decent machine that would probably cost you somewhere in the neighborhood of $400. Dell's intentions are in the right place with the Mini 10, but a netbook with a tiny screen and limited storage is not the ideal platform for a TV tuner, and they're just not winning us over on the benchmarks or industrial design. If you're in the market for a 10-inch netbook, you can do better.

View 10 Replies View Related

Dell :: Review - Inspiron Mini 10 [ZDNET]

Mar 9, 2010

The Good: Sharp design; higher display resolution; HD video acceleration hardware.

The Bad: Broadcom HD video requires beta software for streaming video; smallish touch pad.

The Bottom Line: Dell's popular Netbook adds HD video acceleration for a solid movie-watching experience, but requires a still-in-beta Flash update for streaming video.

View 10 Replies View Related

Dell :: Review - Inspiron Mini 10 [WIRED]

Mar 9, 2010

Dell pushes the upper echelons of netbookitude with the Mini 10. It's a little laptop whose Atom processor marks it as a populist ultraportable, but whose 10-inch, wide-format display and HDMI port reveal more aristocratic ambitions.

Want to catch the last episode of Battlestar Galactica while hanging out in the local java joint? Going to download a season of The Simpsons for viewing on the plane? Giving an impromptu screening of your vacation photos at a friend's house? The Mini 10 is your machine.

It's not all for show, either. Although powered by a relatively anemic 1.6-GHz Atom Z530 processor (a 1.3-GHz Atom Z520 is also available, for $50 less), the Mini 10 actually does a pretty good job at video playback — on its own screen. While the screen's 1,024 x 576 pixels are too few for even 720p HD playback, the 16:9 aspect ratio and vivid colors are enough to make you think you're watching high-def video, and the difference is barely perceptible on a 10-inch screen, anyway. Playing videos from Hulu.com was perfectly acceptable at Hulu's "standard quality," but became jerky at the "high quality" (480 lines) setting.

Playing video over the HDMI out port is another matter, though. While the Mini 10 can drive large screens, it just can't keep up when delivering video to them, so playback becomes choppy. For plugging into a second monitor or for showing off slideshows of your favorite photos (using the integrated SD card slot), that might be ok — but forget about making this puny portable the centerpiece of your home entertainment system.

The 160-GB hard drive gives you plenty of room to store your supersecret cache of BitTorrent porn — ahem, legitimately purchased network TV shows from iTunes — and the keyboard is ample and gives lots of tactile feedback, so when you're ready to turn off the shows and get down to work, the Mini 10 is ready, too.

But there are infuriating shortcomings to the Mini 10. The trackpad is one of the worst we've seen. Dell's decision to integrate the buttons underneath the pad itself makes using it both unpredictable and challenging. When you click on a button, the cursor may hit the target, wiggle off an centimeter or two, or teleport off into a remote corner of your screen. While it got easier to use after a week of practice, our advice is to invest in a cheap travel mouse.

Also, our unit exhibited frequent problems connecting with secure Wi-Fi networks, although it had no problems with unsecured hotspots. (Those still exist?) And the screen, while bright, sports a highly reflective, glossy surface that makes using it in high-contrast environments a real drag.

Worse, the 3-cell battery only lasted an average of 2 hours and 16 minutes in our battery rundown tests. That's far less than the longest-lasting 10-inch netbooks, the Asus Eee PC 1000HE and the Samsung NC10 (both 5 hours).

Unless you absolutely adore Dell's customer service, wait for the company to iron the kinks out of this promising but not-fully-cooked media-friendly netbook. There are other tiny portables that are more deserving of your money.

WIRED Bright, responsive screen. Integrated 1.3-megapixel webcam. Not gunked up with crapware. HDMI-out port shows charming, if unwarranted, optimism about the netbook's video capabilities. Light weight: Just 2.6 pounds.

TIRED Infuriating trackpad with integrated buttons hidden underneath. Excessively glossy screen produces distracting glare. Windows XP is starting to look pretty tired. What, no solid-state option? Despite the HDMI port, the netbook can't deliver HD video without fits and starts.

View 10 Replies View Related

Dell :: Review - Inspiron Mini 10 Netbook [CNET]

Mar 9, 2010


+Trackpad Operation
+Integrated Web Camera
+Win XP
+Keypad Size and Design
+3USB, HDMI, external speaker option, card reader
+Ethernet port & internal wireless
+Power cord construction.

Cons: - Speakers are under the machine (muffled sound)

- Intel Atom Processor
- Cant get to the hard drive externally
- Screen size cuts off some dialog box's footer & resizing is a chore if not

Summary: Placed this side by side with all its current competitors (and I did) and it will win every time. There are just too many pro's than con's and off of that alone makes this the best buy in every way.

View 10 Replies View Related

Dell :: Review - Inspiron Mini 10 (Pine Trail)

Mar 9, 2010

•Distinctive design with several color options
•Comfortable keyboard
•Relatively loud speakers
•Over 9 hours of battery life
•Lots of optional bells and whistles

•Finicky touchpad
•Runs a bit hot
•Somewhat sluggish boot time

Dell’s netbooks have always been in the middle of the pack. They’ve typically offered sleek designs and plenty of customization options, but not the best ergonomics or battery life. This time around Dell took full advantage of Intel’s new Atom N450 processor (Pine Trail) to give its Inspiron Mini 10 a major boost of endurance. Thanks in part to this more efficient CPU, the Mini 10 offers over 9 hours of battery life without a bulging battery. We especially like the more distinctive look, not to mention the several fun color options. You also get a 250GB hard drive, 1GB of RAM, and Windows 7 Starter Edition. At $369, the Mini 10 is fiscally attractive, too. But has Dell done enough to catch up to the likes of Acer, ASUS, and Toshiba?

View 10 Replies View Related

Acer :: Copper Mod On Aspire 4937G (NVIDIA G105M)

May 7, 2010

i believe many of u experience gpu reaching near 100 degrees when gaming, causing laptop to jus turn off by itself.

a gd news here..copper shim solve the problem, which means it lower down temp to prevent tat from happening.

received copper shim in my mailbox yesterday.

thickness is 0.044", 1.11mm, 0.1cm

size is 0.75", 19.05mm, 1.9cm (kind of too big for gpu, becos the seller hav tat size for tat thickness, but nvm, look below)

wat i do next is to use a sand paper(fine one, not rough one), i use 1000cw since i had tat at home. lazy to go out to get more fine one.

do it on a flat surface, sand until like mirror effect.

now proceed to dismantle the whole laptop.

it seems tat the heatsink is too small for tat copper shim, but no need to worry, the surrounding alum is a little lower than tat copper.

using Arctic Cooling MX-2. apply on both cpu, gpu, n on copper shim after placing over gpu.

Stress test results

*Ambient Temperature: 32 degrees

Before copper mod, wit default thermal pad. i immediately stop the test b4 it blackout.

After thermal pad was replaced by Copper Shim.
temperature was still steady at 88 degrees after 11mins!

View 6 Replies View Related

HP/Compaq :: HP Pavilion DM3Z Series Or DM3T Series For Adobe Photoshop

Dec 6, 2009

my friend is thinking about purchasing a new laptop for his mother. The HP DM3 laptops look to the best solution so far since they are both lightweight and have great battery life, something he thinks she'll appreciate. One thing i'm not sure about is their ability to run Adobe Photoshop CS4 smoothly.

I don't use Photoshop very often and when I do, it's on my laptop, which is pretty decent in terms of specifications. Will the program run fine on a laptop with a Intel CULV or AMD Neo processor and integrated graphics? Which leads me to my next question:

Which Pavilion laptop would you recommend? Are they both similar to each other than the processors?

View 5 Replies View Related

Copyrights 2005-15 www.BigResource.com, All rights reserved